US Ag Innovation Challenge announces 10 semi-finalists

The American Farm Bureau Federation (AFBF) and Farm Credit have revealed the 10 semi-finalist teams that are advancing in the 2022 Farm Bureau Ag Innovation Challenge.
calendar icon 10 October 2021
clock icon 7 minute read

“We’re pleased to recognize this exceptional group of entrepreneurs for their commitment to finding solutions to challenges facing farmers, ranchers and rural communities,” said AFBF President Zippy Duvall. “Start-up companies like these are helping to shape the future of agriculture.”

The competition provides an opportunity for individuals to showcase ideas and business innovations in agriculture. This is the eighth year of the Challenge, which was the first national business competition focused exclusively on rural entrepreneurs launching food and agriculture businesses.

The 10 semi-finalist teams are being awarded $10,00 each. They are:

The 10 semi-finalist teams will compete at the AFBF Convention in Atlanta, Georgia, on Friday, 7 January to advance to the final round where the four finalist teams will receive an additional $5,000 for a total of $15,000 each. The final four teams will compete live in front of Farm Bureau members, investors and industry representatives on Sunday, 9 January to win three top titles and prizes:

  • Farm Bureau Ag Innovation Challenge Winner, for a total of $50,000
  • Farm Bureau Ag Innovation Challenge Runner-up, for a total of $20,000
  • People’s Choice Team selected by public vote, for an additional $5,000 (all 10 semi-finalist teams compete for this honor)

The top 10 semi-finalist teams will participate in pitch training and mentorship from Cornell University’s SC Johnson College of Business faculty prior to competing at AFBF’s Convention. In addition, the top 10 semi-finalist teams will have the opportunity to network with industry leaders and venture capital representatives from the Agriculture Department’s Rural Business Investment Companies.

Click here to learn more about the Challenge.

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.