EU Commission helps resume pork, poultry trade to Korea

Korea has removed a longstanding trade barrier
calendar icon 6 September 2022
clock icon 3 minute read

As a result of intense high-level engagement between the European Commission and the Republic of Korea, EU countries can, as of today, export pork and poultry to the Republic of Korea more easily, the Commission said in a press release. The Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs of the Republic of Korea (MAFRA) has decided to remove a longstanding trade barrier which affected EU exports of pork and poultry products, as the Republic of Korea now recognises the EU's stringent regionalisation measures to control outbreaks of African swine fever and the highly pathogenic avian influenza. This decision could unlock over one billion euros of trade in the next years.

"Today's decision by the Republic of Korea to remove restrictions on European exports of pork and poultry should increase export opportunities for a sector that is facing severe constraints. We are delivering on our commitment to support the EU agricultural sector while ensuring that Korean consumers can benefit from high-quality EU products," said executive vice-president and commissioner for trade Valdis Dombrovskis. "We welcome the productive cooperation with our Korean partners, with whom we have worked closely on trade-related issues since our trade agreement in 2011. We hope to build on this success to develop similar constructive cooperation with other trading partners on the recognition of the EU regionalisation system.”

"Safeguarding animal health is a key priority for us. In the EU we have put stringent and effective measures against African swine fever and avian influenza in place," added Stella Kyriakides, commissioner in charge of health and food safety. "The reopening of trade between the Republic of Korea and the EU is a success and a recognition of these efforts which will greatly benefit European producers in the currently difficult economic circumstances. We remain firmly committed to fight these animal diseases and to continue to export EU food products that meet the highest standards and guarantees regarding animal health and food safety.”

Eleven EU countries have been authorised to export poultry and poultry products to the Republic of Korea: Germany, Poland, Hungary, Belgium, France, Finland, Spain, Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark, and Lithuania.

Fourteen Member States have been authorised to export pork and pork products: Germany, Poland, Hungary, Belgium, France, Finland, Spain, Netherlands, Sweden, Denmark, Slovakia, Austria, Ireland, and Portugal.

Until now, the Republic of Korea imposed a countrywide ban on imports of pork or poultry from EU Member States affected with African swine fever or highly pathogenic avian influenza, even though the EU has a strict system of regionalisation by which outbreaks are contained within an affected region to prevent spread to other regions. With the recognition of the EU's regionalisation measures, which are now reflected in the Republic of Korea's revised import health requirements, it now allows the continuation of exports from areas in EU Member States which are free of these diseases instead of imposing a countrywide ban when outbreaks of these animal diseases occur.

This trade facilitating measure followed a thorough assessment carried out by the Republic of Korea on the EU regionalisation control measures. After a technical assessment, the Republic of Korea concluded that trade can continue to take place safely from disease-free areas from EU Member States affected with these diseases.

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.