NAIS premises registration in a nutshell

US - The National Animal Identification System (NAIS) is designed to provide the capacity to rapidly identify all animals and premises (sites) that have had direct contact with a disease.

NAIS consists of three components:

Premises (or site) identification; Animal Identification; Animal tracking.

The U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) has set "benchmarks" for completing each component of the program. By January 2007, 25 percent of the country's premises are to be registered. By January 2008--70 percent of the premises are to be signed up, and by January 2009, the three components are to be fully functioning.

Premises Identification: The program is national, but each state is responsible for implementing premises identification. Premises are locations where livestock or fowl are handled, managed, housed, or processed.

Source: Jasper News Boy
calendar icon 24 May 2006
clock icon 1 minute read
© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.