First Members Elected to Meat Industry Hall of Fame

US - The inaugural class of the newly formed Meat Industry Hall of Fame includes 21 scientists, executives, marketers and meat producers. They include Don Tyson, Frank Perdue and Earl Olsen.
calendar icon 12 August 2009
clock icon 3 minute read

Founders said the Hall of Fame is dedicated to honoring distinguished individuals in the meat, poultry and livestock business; preserving the history of 150 years of meat industry progress; and educating the consuming public about the contributions of meat industry leadership.

Members were elected by a board of trustees, comprised of individuals with expertise and years of meat industry service. Meat Industry Hall of Fame executive director and co-founder, Dan Murphy, said the 2009 honorees are credited with fostering much of the change, progress and success of the industry.

The 2009 class includes: Dell Allen, former Kansas State University professor and vice president for Cargill Meat Solutions; Paul Engler, founder, Cactus Feeders; Mel Coleman, founder, Coleman Natural Meats; Louis 'Mick' Colvin, chief executive officer (CEO), Certified Angus Beef; Phillip Seng, president and CEO, U.S. Meat Export Federation; Temple Grandin, professor of animal science, Colorado State University; Rosemary Mucklow, former executive director, National Meat Association; Robert Peterson, former chairman, IBP; Richard Knowlton, former chairman, president and CEO, Hormel Foods; Russell Cross, professor and administrator, Texas A&M University; Richard Lyng, former US secretary of agriculture and American Meat Institute chairman; Gary Smith, professor, Colorado State University; Don Tyson, former senior chairman, Tyson Foods, Frank Perdue, former chairman, Perdue Farms; Kenneth Monfort, former chairman and CEO, Monfort, Inc.; Joseph Luter III, former chairman and CEO, Smithfield Foods, Donald Houston, former administrator, Food Safety and Inspection Service; Earl Olsen, former chairman, Jennie-O Turkey Company; Jimmy Dean, founder, Jimmy Dean Sausage Company; Lawrence Starr, former CEO, Koch Equipment; and Ray Townsend, founder and former chairman, Townsend Engineering.

Induction ceremonies will be held on 27 October in Chicago. Inductees will be honored with a commemorative plaque to be displayed in the Hall's eventual home and a members-only blazer with the exclusive signature crest.

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.