International Egg and Poultry Review: Africa

AFRICA - This is a weekly report by the USDA's Agricultural Marketing Service (AMS), looking at international developments concerning the poultry industry. This week's report analyses the poultry situation in Africa.
calendar icon 14 April 2010
clock icon 3 minute read

In 2009, Sub-Saharan Africa ranked 7th by value and 6th by volume among the regions of the world the United States (US) exports poultry meat to. Since 2005, poultry meat exports by value have increased 79 per centwhile volume increased 51 per cent. In 2009, approximately 88 per cent of Sub-Saharan imports from the US were leg quarters and Angola was the largest importer. Poultry meat imports for 2010 are starting off slow with imports from the US about 52 per cent lower for January, 2010 when compared to January, 2009.

In 2009, the North Africa was the lowest ranking region, 14th, in the world by value and volume for US poultry meat exports. North Africa only imported 79 metric tons in 2009 with about 69 per cent going to Egypt. In 2005, North Africa imported about 3 metric tons of poultry meat.

For US egg and egg product exports, Sub-Saharan Africa ranked 13th by value and 9th by quantity while North Africa ranked 14th by value and 7th by quantity in 2009. In 2009, South Africa’s dried egg albumen imports of about 86 metric tons was responsible for all of Sub-Sahara Africa’s egg and egg product imports. All of North Africa’s approximate 333 metric tons of egg and egg product imports from the US went to Egypt in 2009. Egypt has bought 33 metric tons of egg products in January, 2010 while South Africa has bought nothing.

North Africa includes: Algeria, Egypt, Libya, Morocco, Tunisia.

Sub-Saharan Africa includes: Cape Verde, Guinea-Bissau, Sao Tome, Principe, Angola, Benin, Botswana, British Indian Ocean Territory, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Burundi-Rwanda, Cameroon, Canary Islands, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Brazzaville), Congo (Kinshasa), Cote d’Ivoire, Djibouti, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, French India Ocean Territory, Gabon, The Gambia, Ghana, Guinea, Kenya, Lesotho, Liberia, Madagascar, Madeira Islands, Malawi, Mali, Mauritania, Mauritius, Mauritius and Dependants, Mayotte, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Rwanda, Saint Helena, Senegal, Seychelles, Seychelles and Dependants, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, NEC South Africa, Spanish Africa and Equatorial Guinea, NEC Spanish Africa, Sudan, Swaziland, Tanzania, Togo, Uganda, Western Sahara, Zambia, Zimbabwe

Source: United States Department of Agriculture. Foreign Agricultural Service

Further Reading

- You can view the full report by clicking here.
© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.