AGM and Board Meeting of the Caribbean Poultry Association

CARIBBEAN - The Caribbean Poultry Association held the 13th Annual General Meeting and the 20th Board Meeting on 24 January 2012 in Atlanta, Georgia, US at the time of the International Poultry & Feed Exposition 2012. The meetings had 22 attendees.
calendar icon 20 March 2012
clock icon 3 minute read

In his closing presidential address, Christopher Levy focused on the three dominant issues that impacted on the poultry, livestock and feed industries during the past year:

  • grain prices
  • the global economy especially the Euro–zone debt crisis
  • imports of cheap residual poultry cuts from the USA

Mr Levy showed how the region was negatively affected and how these issues depressed regional demand for domestic products. Hw also included Haiti in his analysis.

The President highlighted the work of the CPA in 2011 and stated that the CPA’s efforts at COTED were of much significance.

In respect of the future, Mr Levy said that unpredictability will continue to impact the sector. While he maintains that the future for the global poultry sub-sector looks optimistic and that chicken is the 'Meat of the Future', the domestic poultry sub-sector in the Caribbean Region will face significant challenges that could threaten future growth and development.

Mr Levy emphasised the need by members for continual vigilance and for informing the Secretariat of changes that occur in the industry in their respective countries.

He closed by saying that it was a great privilege to have served the region in the capacity of President of the Caribbean Poultry Association. He thanked all members for the support that he received during the year and wished the incoming Executive and Board success in 2012.

The following have been elected to serve for 2012:

Members of the Board

Barbados : Peter De Freitas; David Foster
Belize : Jake Rempel
Guyana : Patrick De Groot
Jamaica : Dr Keith Amiel; Christopher Levy
OECS : Garvyn Pierre
Surinam : Peter Van Dijk
Trinidad/Tobago : Shameer Ronnie Mohammed; Robin Phillips
Executive Director : Dr Desmond A. Ali

Members of the Executive Committee of the Board:

President & Board Chairman : Shameer Ronnie Mohammed
Hon. Secretary : Robin Phillips
Hon. Treasurer : Dr Keith Amiel
Executive Director : Dr Desmond A. Ali

At the 20th Board Meeting, the incoming President & Board Chairman, Shameer Ronnie Mohammed expressed his pleasure at being elected to serve for 2012. He thanked the previous and outgoing Executive and Board for their efforts and looked forward to the support of all members during his term of office.

The Board reviewed the work of the Secretariat for 2011 and expressed satisfaction at the quality and quantity of the achievements. The Board was especially in praise of the Secretariat’s documentation particularly in respect of matters related to trade.

The Work Programme and Budget for 2012 were approved.

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.