Merck Animal Health Awards $170,000 in Scholarships to Veterinary Students

US - Merck Animal Health, in partnership with the American Veterinary Medical Foundation (AVMF), today announced the recipients of the 2016 Merck Animal Health Veterinary Student Scholarship Programme.
calendar icon 17 March 2016
clock icon 3 minute read

Through this programme, 34 exemplary second- and third-year veterinary students from around the world will each receive a $5,000 scholarship. All are pursuing future careers in either large animal or companion animal medicine.

“As a company rooted in science, we recognize and value the vital role veterinarians play in our world,” said Scott Bormann, Vice President, North America, Merck Animal Health. “Veterinary students’ future success is dependent on the educational foundation that we help them build. The support we offer now will not only benefit them, but also the animals and people they will impact during their careers. Merck Animal Health is proud to help support these deserving students in their educational pursuits.”

AVMF, the charitable arm of the American Veterinary Medical Association, has a 53-year history of supporting veterinary students to help offset the financial burdens that accompany veterinary medical education.

“The AVMF is devoted to ensuring the future of veterinary medicine by identifying and supporting remarkable students,” said Deborah Harp, CFRE, AVMF Executive Director. “We are honored to partner with Merck Animal Health to support these veterinary students with their education, as we are confident the work they’re doing now will help advance the medical care of animals.”

Award recipients from US and international veterinary schools accredited through the AVMA were selected based on academic excellence, financial need, leadership and area of interest within the profession. The 2016 scholarship recipients are:

  • Sabrina Alam, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University-Bangladesh
  • Lauren Aldrich, North Carolina State University
  • Abdul Alim, Bangladesh Agricultural University
  • Paulynne Bellen, The Ohio State University
  • Anna Biesbrock, University of California-Davis
  • Erin Black, Texas A&M University
  • Lauren Carroll, Texas A&M University
  • Nurun Nahar Christy, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University-Bangladesh
  • Courtney Doan, Michigan State University
  • Ros Jezreel Dumaraos, University of the Philippines Los Banos
  • Jordan Ford, Cornell University
  • Miranda Fritz, University of Guelph
  • Maria Patricia Gungon, University of the Philippines Los Banos
  • Imam Hasan, Bangladesh Agricultural University
  • Mahdi Hasan, Bangladesh Agricultural University
  • Melissa Icaza, Tufts University
  • Victoria Koehler, Cornell University
  • Yukwah Kwok, University of Pennsylvania
  • Claire LeFevre, University of Wisconsin
  • Matthew Mak, St. George’s University
  • Anna Angelica Manalo, University of the Philippines Los Banos
  • Zannatul Maoya, Bangladesh Agricultural University
  • Eva Marie, Cornell University
  • Samantha Morici, Auburn University
  • Jacqueline Murphy, Colorado State University
  • Mededi Hasan Nayeem, Bangladesh Agricultural University
  • Tanvir Ahmad Nizami, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University-Bangladesh
  • Josephine Noah, University of California-Davis
  • Shannon Palmer, University of Saskatchewan
  • Hafizar Rahman, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University-Bangladesh
  • Shelbe Rice, University of Georgia
  • S.M. Abdus Salam, Chittagong Veterinary and Animal Sciences University-Bangladesh
  • Abu Tarek, Bangladesh Agricultural University
  • Melissa Wilson, Oregon State University
© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.