Canada restricts imports from avian influenza-affected US states

Listed poultry products are under restriction until further notice
calendar icon 11 March 2022
clock icon 1 minute read

The Canadian Food Inspection Agency (CFIA) issued a press release Wednesday announcing new restrictions against the movement of poultry products from avian influenza-impacted US states.

All raw poultry and all poultry products and by-products that are not fully cooked, including eggs and raw pet foods, sourced, processed, or packaged from the restricted zones in the states below are under restriction until further notice.

If you buy poultry or eggs in the United States (U.S.), make sure you have proof that they originate from and were purchased in a region other than those under restriction. Poultry and birds (including pet birds) originating from the restricted zones in the states below are under restriction until further notice. Furthermore, all live birds, including poultry and hatching eggs cannot transit through the restricted zones or any part of states that are completely banned.

CFIA has implemented measures to protect Canada's poultry resources from outbreaks of highly pathogenic avian influenza reported in poultry in the following states:

  • Delaware
  • Indiana
  • Kentucky
  • Maryland
  • Missouri
  • South Dakota

These measures are a normal part of Canada's animal disease control efforts and are consistent with international guidelines on trade.

Examples of restricted items include:

  • live birds and hatching eggs
  • eggs, yolks, egg whites (albumen)
  • poultry meat (other than fully cooked, canned, commercially sterile meat products)
  • raw pet foods containing poultry products
  • feathers
  • poultry manure and litter
  • laboratory material containing poultry products/by-products
© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.