Arkansas Scientists Recognised at PSA Meeting

US - Several University of Arkansas poultry science faculty and students received award at the Poultry Science Association's annual meeting held at Niagara Falls, Canada, on 21-25 July.
calendar icon 5 August 2008
clock icon 2 minute read

Two Faculty Awards

Dr Young-Min Kwon received the Hy-Line International Research Award and $2500. Winners are judged based on the previous calendar year's published research, where the faculty member was the sole author or senior author on an outstanding research paper.

Dr Robert Wideman Junior was named a Fellow of the Poultry Science Association. He joined the University of Arkansas in 1993 and his research is currently focused on the physiological and genetic limitations associated with broiler susceptibility to ascites.

Awards to Five Students

Valerie Brewer, a master's student of Dr Jason Emmert, took first place for her poster on poultry nutrition.

Master's student of Drs Dustan Clark and Narayan Rath, Vijay Durairaj won first place for his research on leg problems in broiler breeders.

Winning first place for his oral presentation in the genetic, pathology and immunology section was Isaac Harfor, master's student of Dr Nick Anthony.

Holly Jackson, undergraduate student of Dr Billy Hargis, took top honours in the poster section of Processing, Products and Food Safety.

First place for her research presentation on macrophages and Thymosin beta 4 regulation went to Lakshmi Kannan, a doctoral student of Dr Narayan Rath.

© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.