British Poultry Industry Celebrates Excellence

UK - The British poultry industry celebrated outstanding achievements and potential for excellence during the British Poultry Council Annual Awards at the House of Commons yesterday, 2 December 2014.
calendar icon 3 December 2014
clock icon 7 minute read

British Poultry Council (BPC) Chairman, John Reed, presented the awards with Anne McIntosh MP, Chairman of the EFRA Select Committee and highlighted the unique contributions of each winner to the poultry industry.

The BPC Awards recognise years of distinguished service, contribution to marketing, potential for future excellence and support for the industry. This year the awards saw the launch of the BPC awards.

Mr Reed said: “These awards continue to be a great platform to showcase the real talent that lies at the heart of the industry. This year is no exception and I have been amazed at the positive contribution all the winners have made in order to receive these great accolades.”

Anne McIntosh MP welcomed the industry’s celebration of excellence, saying: “Having a number of major poultry producers in my constituency, I recognise and welcome their contribution to the local economy and bringing food to our table. I congratulate all the prize winners today and the British Poultry Meat Industry on their ambitious manifesto.”

The winners of the 2014 BPC Awards were selected by an expert judging panel and are as follows:

Distinguished Service Award winner, Richard Hutchinson, Sales Director at Aviagen Turkeys, who has worked in the industry for three decades and achieved significant turkey parent stock sales to Eastern Europe, particularly in Russia.

Mr Hutchinson said: “I am delighted and honoured to receive the distinguished service award. I count myself very privileged to be involved in such a dynamic industry and it has been a great pleasure to assist in the export of our products to many parts of the world and see the industry develop and flourish.”

Clay Burrows, Managing Director, Aviagen Turkeys commenting on Mr Hutchinson's win said: “Richard has played such a huge role in the development, not only of our company but the turkey industry overall. He has overseen huge changes in the industry and growth across Europe, it is therefore fantastic that Richard is being recognised with this award.”

Distinguished Service Award Winner, Lindsay Broadbent, Technical & Account Manager at Aviagen UK Ltd, the expert judging panel were impressed with his technical, organisational and personal contribution to the industry particularly in parts of Europe and the Middle East over the last 38 years. He retires this year.

Mr Broadbent said: “I am really proud to follow so many worthy winners of this award. It is of special significance because any award nominated and voted for by your peers is the highest accolade a person can receive.

“Working in a job I enjoyed for so many years with people I like and respect is reward in itself, but for people to take time to recognise that is really the icing on the cake. This finishes off a really emotional and enjoyable 2014. I will miss the daily contact with so many good friends but will keep in touch as much as possible.”

Alan Thomson, Aviagen Regional Commercial & Technical Manager Europe, commenting on Mr Broadbent's award said: “Lindsay’s contribution to the industry should not be underestimated. His calm approach to technical services, sparkling personality and sheer knowledge of the poultry business has made him a great asset and his input has been appreciated by Aviagen customers across the UK and around the globe. While we are sad to see him leave our team we do of course wish him all the best for the future.”

Distinguished Service Award Winner, Noel Bartram, Retired, has over four decades working within the poultry industry and has held a number of positions within AVEC (the European body of Poultry Processors), the BPC and Red Tractor.

Upon receiving the award, he said: “I am delighted to receive this award. I have had many years of service within the poultry industry and to win this award alongside my peers is a real honour.”

Marketing Award Winners, John and Anna Franklin of Franklin Farms, won the award due to their many years of work in marketing. They recently hosted the Annual Goose Walk at their farm. This involved welcoming over 100 people from the industry as well as local businesses and colleges, to come and talk about the current and forthcoming marketing conditions.

They both said upon receiving the award: “We are very proud to be invited to accept this marketing award, and would like to thank those involved.”

Mid-Career Award Winner, Alan Huston, General Manager - Breeders & Hatcheries at Moy Park, has now 24 years’ experience in the poultry industry. From the importation of grandparent day-olds through to producing day old broilers, he oversees operations, liaising with Moy Park’s growers and hatcheries in the UK. Hen is also responsible for the sale of parent stock to Europe and broiler hatching eggs to customers in the UK and the Middle East.

Mr Huston said: “I was thrilled to be invited to the House of Commons and to be presented with an award for my work in the poultry industry and with Moy Park. It was a complete surprise to be nominated for this award – let alone to be named the winner! It is an honour and a privilege to be recognised by my peers within the industry.”

Special Merit Award Winner, Dr Tracey Jones, Director of Food Business at CIWF, won the award due to her collaboration with industry, NGOs and Government for over 20 years, and the judging panel were particularly impressed with her work on the welfare, behaviour and bathing water provision for ducks.

Upon receiving the award, Dr Jones commented: “I feel very humble accepting this Special Merit Award from the British Poultry Council. Over the years, we have worked together closely and we are currently finalising a scoring methodology for future integration into the Duck Assurance scheme.”

BPC Scholarship Award Winner, Henrietta Kodilinye-Sims, Veterinary Associate at Slate Hall Veterinary Practice, won the award for her work done to assess the comparability of dermatitis scores between processing plants.

On receiving the award, she said: “I am delighted to receive the BPC scholarship award – it’s a real honour. When I embarked on the project I had no idea it would have such a positive impact for the poultry industry. I hope I can achieve more results like this in my career.”

BPC Scholarship Award Winner, Kay Russell, PhD Student at Scotland’s Rural College, won the award due to her ongoing work into immune responses to necrotic enteritis of broilers and exploring the interactions between genotype and the environment.

Upon notification that she would be presented with the award, she said: “I am delighted to have been nominated and receive the BPC Scholarship Award. It’s exciting to be invited to the House of Commons and meet others connected to the poultry industry. Studies into host pathogen interactions are important for poultry health and I hope my research can go some way to improving results for the industry.”

Rupert Chalmers-Watson Award Winner, Peter Bradnock, Policy Affairs Advisor to the International Poultry Council, as CEO of the BPC from 1993 to 2013 has been a long advocate of the Turkey Sector. He was also elected President of the Turkey Club UK at the Club’s AGM this year.

Paul Kelly, Chairman of the BPC Turkey Sector Group said this: “Peter has a long history of working within this industry. He is widely respected and a very worthy winner.”

British Poultry Council awards 2014
BPC Award Winners 2014 with John Reed, Anne McIntosh MP and agriculture minister, George Eustice
© 2000 - 2024 - Global Ag Media. All Rights Reserved | No part of this site may be reproduced without permission.